PROGRAMME OF TALKS AND MEETINGS

KESGRAVE


September 2018 – June 2019

All Kesgrave meetings are held at the Kesgrave Community Centre,

Twelve Acres Approach, Bell Lane, 

Kesgrave, IP5 1JF (map)

No 66 bus from Ipswich & Martlesham passes the door every 15 minutes (timetable).

Meetings are at 2pm, usually on the last Monday of the month (September - June) but there are exceptions.


Friday 07 September Kesgrave
10.30am – 12.30pm
Open Day: your opportunity to see what our groups will be offering for the coming year.

Monday 24 September
Kesgrave 2.00pm
The Crane Family – from Normandy to Nacton: the rise of the Crane family from humble beginnings to industrial success in Ipswich John Barbrook


Monday 29 October
Kesgrave 2.00pm
Colchester Zoo – Past, Present and Future: the history of zoos, in particular Colchester Zoo, and a discussion of the modern-day role of zoos Rebecca Moore


Monday 26 November
Kesgrave 2.00pm
Helicopter Flying: an Oxymoron – the first woman through the RAF’s fast-jet flying training programme explains the differences between fixed-wing and rotary pilots Sally Dearman-Cummings


Monday 28 January
Kesgrave 2.00pm
Oliver Cromwell: Magic, Mystery and Blood Tony Diamond


Monday 25 February
Kesgrave 2.00pm
St Edmund in History and Legend: an assessment of the accounts in the Anglo-Saxon Chronicles, the history of Danish East Anglia and the rise of the cult of St Edmund Dr Sam Newton




Monday 25 March
Kesgrave 2.00pm
Elizabeth Garrett Anderson and her Circle: the story of a pioneering doctor and other enterprising women of her time Jennifer Jones


Monday 29 April
Kesgrave 2.00pm
Burston – a Striking Village: a brief résumé of conditions leading up to the Burston Strike, its causes, its uniqueness and its aftermath Anne May


Monday 20 May
Kesgrave 2.00pm
Brunel, The Man and his Work: a look at Brunel’s achievements and some of his less successful work Roger Mannion

Monday 10 June
Kesgrave 2.00pm
Annual General Meeting
Friday 06 September Kesgrave 10.30am – 12.30pm
Advance Notice of Open Day 2019: your opportunity to see what our groups will be offering for the coming year